Men Without Hats

I want to preface this post by saying my blog won’t necessarily be about music. Yet my first post and this one will not only be about music in general but bands from Canada. Similar to how I have somewhat recently become acquainted with Len, I rediscovered Men Without Hats a couple of years ago.

When MWH first gained prominence, it was 1983 when I was 11 years old. I remember hearing The Safety Dance on the radio and seeing the video on MTV.

I was fond of the song when it was popular but never went so far as to buy the single or the album Rhythm of Youth;. Around 2004 I thought of this song and found it somewhere on the internet, perhaps on Napster. Months later my early generation iMac bit the dust and I lost much of my media. Fast forward to 2010, I looked up The Safety Dance on Youtube then connected with MWH on their official site and their Facebook page as well.

It had been years since they produced a record. They were still around, but the lead singer, Ivan Doroschuck, is the only remaining original band member. Not long after this, they announced a tour that involved several shows in both Canada and the U.S. I wanted to see them if possible, so I was pleased to find out that they would be playing in my hometown of Houston, Texas. I ended up buying a couple of tickets not long after they went on sale. The venue was a club in Houston’s Montrose area that has been around since the eighties, perhaps even longer. Despite it being a small venue, MANY famous artists have performed at Numbers. Side note: Back in 1995 I saw Alanis Morissette just before You Outta Know went to the top of the charts. Also in the summer of 1995 I saw Better Than Ezra there. The show was sold out but I won tickets off the radio. Of those who had won tickets from that station, some were selected to have pizza with the band before the show. Here is me at age 23 with Better Than Ezra’s lead singer Kevin Griffin.

Image

Anyway, back to Men Without Hats. Once I got to the venue with my friend Tonia and her boyfriend, I found out that the show was nowhere near being sold out. In fact only a couple of dozen people were there. When they played The Safety Dance, I recorded it and put it on Youtube.

It was fun to get to meet Ivan, who I had corresponded with a little bit on Facebook. Anyway MWH has released a new album in recent months, Love In The Age of War. It’s available on iTunes and they have scheduled a tour for North America. I haven’t listened to any of their new songs just yet but once I do I may write another post about it. In the mean time, check out the official Men Without Hats website; they are also on Facebook and twitter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

